The slideshows below run through each chord inversion. The “root” inversion is the one where the leftmost note being played is a D.

D (“D major” / Dmaj)

Dm (“D minor” / Dmin / Dm)

D7 (“D seven”)

Dm7 (“D minor seven” / Dmin7)

DM7 (“D major seven” / Dmaj7)

DmM7 (“D minor major seven” / Dminmaj7)

D7b5 (“D seven flat five”)

coming soon!

D7#5 (“D seven sharp five”)

coming soon!

Dm7b5 (“D minor seven flat five” / Dmin7b5)

coming soon!

D7b9 (“D seven flat nine”)

coming soon!

D6 (“D six”)

Dm6 (“D minor six” / Dmin6)

D69 (“D six nine”)

D9 (“D nine”)

Dm9 (“D minor nine” / Dmin9)

DM9 (“D major nine” / Dmaj9)

coming soon!

Dadd9 (“D add nine”)

coming soon!

D11 (“D eleven”)

coming soon!

Dm11 (“D minor eleven” / Dmin11)

coming soon!

D13 (“D thirteen”)

coming soon!

Dsus2 (“D sus two”)

Dsus4 (“D sus four”)

D7sus2 (“D seven sus two”)

D7sus4 (“D seven sus four”)

Ddim (“D diminished”)

Ddim7 (“D diminished seven”)

Dø (“D half diminished”)

Daug (“D augmented”)